Free Motion Quilting

I am ready to quilt!  In these photos, you can see the final 6-inch border, with the corner blocks.image

There are many options for the quilting on a sampler such as this.  The easiest (and cheapest, if you are paying someone to finish your quilt) is to use an all-over design.  On a longarm machine, this is referred to as a pantograph pattern.

Another option is custom quilting, where the quilter “draws” in each block and adds texture to the blank areas.  When I do this type of custom quilting, I often match my thread to the colors in the blocks, which would have been a tedious process for this sampler!imageI chose a very simple quilting design of outlining the main portion of each block, called stitch in the ditch.  I am using a celery green thread, even in blocks with blue and purple backgrounds.  Up close, it is very noticeable, but from across the room, you can barely see the stitching.  The green is visible in the borders, where I am quilting some free-hand feathers, a classic quilting motif.

I do take customer quilts.  Feel free to email me at: andimc13 AT cox DOT net for more information.  I realize that mailing quilts can get expensive so please support your local longarm quilters!

 

Leave a comment